The 91st annual Academy Awards will take place on Sunday, Feb. 24 at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Los Angeles. While the 2019 ceremony will remain hostless, plenty of stars are set to attend the awards show to honor the best in film from the past year.

The Oscars has already had it’s fair share of controversy, including after the Film Academy announced it planned to present four categories — cinematography, film editing, live-action short and makeup and hairstyling — during commercial breaks. A number of high profile actors, directors and cinematographers signed an open letter that urged the Academy to reconsider.


Following the backlash, the Academy reversed the decision and said those categories would be presented live during the broadcast.

Here’s what to expect from the 2019 Oscars.

How to Watch

The ceremony will be broadcast on ABC at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

In addition to airing on TV, the ceremony will be available to live stream on and the ABC app, which can be accessed by signing in with a participating TV provider.

Before the nominees, presenters and guests make their way into the ceremony, they will walk the red carpet.

An exclusive special Oscars All Access: Red Carpet Live will be live streamed on The Academy’s Twitter page beginning at 3:30 p.m. PT and will air until the ceremony begins. Laura Marano, Louis Virtel and Chris Connelly will host the red carpet special. Fans can get it on the fun by submitting questions for the night’s stars by using the hashtag #OscarsAllAccess.

Additionally, red carpet coverage will air on ABC beginning at 3:30 p.m. PT

E! Live From the Red Carpet will also participate in the night’s festivities. The red carpet coverage, which kicks off at 2 pm PT, will feature interviews with the nominees and presenters.

Who to Watch

This year will marks the first time since 1989 that the Oscars do not have a host. It was announced in December that Kevin Hart had been selected to host the show, but he dropped out of the role two days later following the resurfacing of old, controversial tweets in which the comedian expressed anti-gay sentiments and used homophobic terminology and slurs.

“I have made the choice to step down from hosting this year’s Oscars … this is because I do not want to be a distraction on a night that should be celebrated by so many amazing talented artists. I sincerely apologize to the LGBTQ community for my insensitive words from my past,” Hart explained in a tweet about why he chose to step down as host.

It later emerged that Dwayne Johnson had also entertained the idea of hosting the show, but that didn’t work out.

Read More

The Politics of Oscar: Inside the Academy’s Long, Hard Road to a Hostless Show

After months of speculation, The Academy confirmed earlier this month that the show would remain hostless, though that doesn’t mean the night will be lacking in star power.

Presenters announced to take the stage include Jennifer Lopez, Tina Fey, Daniel Craig, Awkwafina, Chris Evans, Whoopi Goldberg, Brie Larson, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Amandla Stenberg, Charlize Theron, Tessa Thompson, Constance Wu, Javier Bardem, Angela Bassett, Chadwick Boseman, Emilia Clarke, Laura Dern, Samuel L. Jackson, Stephan James, Keegan-Michael Key, KiKi Layne, James McAvoy, Melissa McCarthy, Jason Momoa, Sarah Paulson, Elsie Fisher, Danai Gurira, Brian Tyree Henry, Michael B. Jordan, Michael Keaton, Helen Mirren, John Mulaney, Tyler Perry, Pharrell Williams, Krysten Ritter, Paul Rudd, Michelle Yeoh, Chef Jose Andres, Dana Carvey, Queen Latifah, Congressman John Lewis, Diego Luna, Tom Morello, Mike Myers, Trevor Noah, Amandla Stenberg, Barbra Streisand and Serena Williams.

The tradition of the previous year’s four Oscar-winning actors presenting at the following year’s Oscars will continue this year. Former best actor winner Gary Oldman and best supporting actress winner Allison Janney are expected to join forces to present, while best actress winner Frances McDormand will present alongside her Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri co-star and last year’s best supporting actor winner Sam Rockwell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *